Announcing the 2017 FPP Peace Prize winners

The FPP Peace Prize was founded in 2009 due to the history of the Nobel Prize Committee selecting pro-war recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize. The FPP Peace Prize has a mission to recognize a person (or group) that has — through deeds, words, and actions — worked to make the world a more peaceful place where “it shall be legal for anyone to do anything he wants, provided only that he not initiate (or threaten) violence against the person or legitimately owned property of another.”

The 2009 winner, Ron Paul, was the overwhelming favorite having taken 52% of the vote. From 2010 to 2014, the votes have been much closer and resulted in multiple winners. Adam Kokesh, Iraq Veterans Against the War (IVAW) and Private Manning receiving the 2010 FPP Peace Prize. Angela Keaton and won the 2011 FPP Peace Prize. Scott Horton, Ian Freeman and Julian Assange were awarded the 2012 FPP Peace Prize. Pete Eyre, Derrick J Freemen and Edward J. Snowden were winners of the 2013 FPP Peace Prize. Ross Ulbricht and Fr33 Aid were recognized in 2014 for their work towards a more free and peaceful society. Two-time Libertarian Presidential nominee, Harry Browne was posthumously recognized for his lifetime of work in 2015. Walter Block & Rodger Paxton were added to the list of FPP Peace Prize recipients in 2016.

For the fourth time ever, and the first time since 2013, the FPP Peace Prize has three recipients. Thrice previously, and for the first time since 2014, an organization is being recognized for its work towards a more free and peaceful society. The 2017 FPP Peace Prize is being shared by two men, and an organization dedicated to a more free and peaceful world.

Among other titles they may have, both of the human recipients are award winning authors, small business owners and tireless advocates for freedom. The first recipient has spent most of his adult life as an advocate & activist for peace and liberty, and was a Libertarian Presidential candidate in 2016; the second recipient is a prolific writer with a passion for philosophy, economics, history and theology; and the organizational recipient is working to get 20,000 people to pick up their lives and put their beliefs into action in New Hampshire.

It is my pleasure to announce the winners of the 2017 FPP Peace Prize: Darryl W. Perry, Davi Barker & The Free State Project!