Announcing the Winners of the 2016 FPP Peace Prize

The FPP Peace Prize was founded in 2009 due to the history of the Nobel Prize Committee selecting pro-war recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize. The FPP Peace Prize has a mission to recognize a person (or group) that has — through deeds, words, and actions — worked to make the world a more peaceful place where “it shall be legal for anyone to do anything he wants, provided only that he not initiate (or threaten) violence against the person or legitimately owned property of another.”

The 2009 winner, Ron Paul, was the overwhelming favorite having taken 52% of the vote. From 2010 to 2014, the votes have been much closer and resulted in multiple winners. Adam Kokesh, Iraq Veterans Against the War (IVAW) and Private Manning receiving the 2010 FPP Peace Prize. Angela Keaton and won the 2011 FPP Peace Prize. Scott Horton, Ian Freeman and Julian Assange were awarded the 2012 FPP Peace Prize. Pete Eyre, Derrick J Freemen and Edward J. Snowden were winners of the 2013 FPP Peace Prize. Ross Ulbricht and Fr33 Aid were recognized in 2014 for their work towards a more free and peaceful society. Two-time Libertarian Presidential nominee, Harry Browne was posthumously recognized for his lifetime of work in 2015.

2016 votingTwice previously the FPP Peace Prize has been awarded to two recipients, however in each case one recipient was an organization being recognized for its work towards a more free and peaceful society; and thrice previously has the FPP Peace Prize been awarded to three recipients, in 2010 one of the recipients was an organization. The 2016 FPP Peace Prize is being shared by two men dedicated to a more free and peaceful world, however these men take different approaches towards this better society. One of our recipients is an economics professor at Loyola University in New Orleans, a Senior Fellow at the Mises Institute and may be best known for his book Defending the Undefendable. The other recipient of the 2016 FPP Peace Prize is a former Chair of the Arkansas Libertarian Party, host of The LAVA Flow Podcast, is a Regional Captain for the Foundation for New Hampshire Independence and is the founder and CEO of Pax Libertas Productions. It is my pleasure to announce the winners of the 2016 FPP Peace Prize: Walter Block & Rodger Paxton!